Research Consortium

Photo: Sarah Leberman (Courtesy of NEXT Magazine)

In 2018, Women in Sport Aotearoa convened New Zealand’s largest independent group of academics dedicated to investigating the barriers that stand in the way of equity for women and girls in sport and identifying opportunities for positive change. It is chaired by Professor Sarah Leberman, Women in Sport Aotearoa co-founder and co-chair and respected researcher with 25+ years’ experience. It includes key researchers from 7 of the 8 New Zealand Universities:

  • Massey University (Dr Farah Palmer)
  • University of Auckland (Professor Toni Bruce)
  • Auckland University of Technology (AUT) (Professor Lesley Ferkins, Gaye Bryham, Sally Rae)
  • University of Waikato (Professor Holly Thorpe, Dr Stacy Sims, Dr Kirsten Petrie, Associate Professor Belinda Wheaton)
  • University of Otago (Associate Professor Sally Shaw)
  • Victoria University of Wellington (Robyn Cockburn)
  • Lincoln University (Dr Roslyn Kerr)
  • Sport Waikato (Dr Amy Marfell)

This group is inclusive so to join please email to contact Professor Sarah Leberman.

IWG 2018-2022

Find out about our leadership work on the global stage

Insight Hub

Gain real insights to help you make a case for change


Catch-up on the latest from our partners at LockerRoom


Read about our work to influence gender equity in sport